New to Solid - Compatibility?

So I’m brand new to Solid. I’ve had a similar vision for my entire career in Software development. I’ve built several systems over the years that make is possible for users to manage their own data. My latest iteration is https://github.com/ua1-labs/firestudio. My vision for FireStudio is very much the same as Solid.

Solid has a much broader audience than FireStudio. But I was wondering, is there room for multiple iterations of platform software that can talk to each other? Like is there a standard for which Solid will communicate. That way I could build FireStudio to be compatible with solid.

So my vision is for FireStudio to be place where data is stored and shared. How can I ensure that it can talk to Solid Pods? Like for messaging and sharing?

2 Likes

Actually Solid is a standard, or more specifically a collection of standards. It would be great, if you make FireStudio Solid compatible. This way, Solid apps could use Firebase as storage for example.

1 Like

Oh! That’s amazing! From everything I’ve heard/read so far, Solid was a software package written in Node. So are “Pods” implementations of the Solid spec?

2 Likes

The Node Solid server is just one implementation of the spec. A testsuite is in development so that other implementation can assert they conform.

POD ist short for personal online datastore. Solid highly decouples serveral aspects like identity, authentication, and storage. A POD provides storage for your data.

1 Like

I think POD means BaaS that follows LDP standard and WebID. So if your project supports LDP and WebID, SoLiDApps can store data easily to your platform.

Thank you so much for the clarification! I am starting to see the method behind the madness :slight_smile:

1 Like

Is it also true that node-solid-server is the only implementation of the (server-side requirements) of the spec? i.e. that firestudio could be the second ever & first PHP one?