General questions and clarifications on app development

Hi everyone,

I’m a backend developer who has spent the past 4 to 5 years developing backend platforms for social apps (the latest being keakr.com) so I believe I’ve gathered quite a lot of experience in building real-world social systems. I’m working on a new project now - yet another social app - and we’re considering to build it on top of Solid. I think I’ve grasped the basic principles of how Solid works, but then I’m having a hard time trying to map them to actual use-cases.

I guess the best way to proceed is to describe some typical user flows and try to figure out how they would be implemented with Solid. Please feel free to comment, invalidate - or even confirm - what I’ll describe below. I’ll highlight open questions with [?]. It may become a long, but hopefully interesting thread that can benefit any developer considering Solid!

Registration
This is usually done by creating an account with email/password or using another social platform as identity provider. In the case of Solid:

• we eventually expect a WebID, so either the user already has one and we let her log in, or she creates one on our servers
  • the user also needs a POD, so same story: either she gives us access to an existing POD or creates one with us

Creating posts
Standard flow, but instead of storing the posts and its assets in our DB, we store them in the user’s POD.
[?] Should we first create a directory where we would store all the data coming from our app?

Listing posts