Is Inrupt for Taking Back the Internet?

im a journalist so my basic understanding was that the guy who kind of started the internet… i forget his name but i know hes the energy behind inrupt… that he felt like the establishment / corporations… oligarchs what have you are working on controling the net… i understood inrupt as his first push back… it was described as a way for the people to lock out powerful/rich etc people from controling people online… basicly to keep it from just being another tv network or what have you…

thats why you see me posting topics like where is the inrupt facebook replacement… if were going to take back the net we need to replace essential utilities like facebook because thats EXACTLY WHAT THEY ARE … ESSENTIAL UTILITIES, just like electricity… the telephone etc… government isnt going to do this so when i saw a guy who apparently can get things done out to change the net and make some part of it free of corporate / private censorship and control i was understandably very interested… we need a google replacement… we need a chrome replacement… we need a youtube replacement… things like this need to be OWNED by their users…

i think im just impatient… from my reading of other posts inrupt solid is still in the early stages… trying to just get servers up and stuff like that… trying to get the programming done etc… if thats the case i wish you all good luck… but at the same time ive seen mastadon and use it since one of you suggested it to me and i like it and eventually i will use it as a twitter replacement … i never use twitter… i can do everything it does and more on facebook so why use it? So there are already inrupt based programes sites out there… so thats what makes me wonder why not fb??? and certainly why not chrome and why not google??? … theyre certainly easier… if im not mistaken google was first programmed by a couple of engineering students at stanford… not exactly difficult id say.

Hi @MajorHeadrush