Error: "Your profile ... is not editable"

Complete newbie here. I’ve just today created a pod on solidcommunity.net and have been playing around to see what I can do with it. So far I’ve created a private Address Book called ‘Family’ and added a couple of contacts. I then created another Address Book called ‘Contacts’ and (manually) copied the data from the first to a ‘Family’ group in the second. I then looked for a way to delete the old ‘Family’ Address Book and couldn’t find one.

The Data Browser User Guide says you can delete folder and data resources using the ‘Under the Hood’ view but I can’t see the cog icon anywhere. So I thought, perhaps, I needed to set my user type to ‘Power user’ and clicked on that. Nothing seems to have changed as a result but now, when I click on ‘Edit your profile’ I get this error message:

Your profile https://ploid.solidcommunity.net/profile/card is not editable, so we cannot do much here.

Can anyone tell me how to get out of this, please?

1 Like

Hi @ploid, we have observed a behaviour like that in the past, but I think it is still not clear what exactly causes it, see Profile/Preferences not editable even though logged in · Issue #29 · solid/solidos · GitHub

For now you can try to completely delete the browser cache for solidcommunity.net and ploid.solidcommunity.net, sometimes the session data is messed up and it appears that you are logged in though you are not. You can also try to log in using a fresh new private tab and see if it works there after you log in.

If you gain any insights please add a comment to the above issue

1 Like

Thanks, @aveltens, clearing the browser cache and logging in again has fixed the error.

2 Likes

I have seen this error with newly created Pods on NSS deployments. I assume it has something to do with the setting of the user type in their preferences as the error can be resolved by selecting a user type:

1. Log into your Pod in Data Browser.