Creating a Gatsby source plugin for Solid pods

Glad to see people have been thinking of this already :blush: I’m a big fan of Gatsby and also a big fan of Tanner, the creator of React Static.

I’m thinking of creating a Gatsby source plugin to source data from Solid pods. I’m also a React beginner, moderately familiar with Gatsby and a total noob with Solid. I hope to start working on this soon.

@happybeing, did you make progress with React Static?

@RubenVerborgh, you’ve done work that’s quite related. In fact, I started considering I’d do something to enable querying of pods with GraphQL and that’s how I came across your talk.

I think Solid and Gatsby are a match made in heaven. Gatsby’s vision of what they call The Content Mesh aligns very well with what Solid provides. They just need to take note :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes::

I still have to wrap my head around what this source plugin will look like. I’m also thinking it might make sense to create a SPARQL/RDF source plugin in the spirit of gatsby-source-graphql. It might even make sense to piece together the latter with GraphQL-LD.

Any help, tips or pointers appreciated.

3 Likes

I chose React-static because it was easy to understand while learning React at the same time. React-static is simple and just looks like React, but delivers really fast websites. Like you I’ve become a big fan of Tanner - he’s very helpful and I like his videos. So I’ve not yet tried Gatsby, I was just about to when I found React-static and liked that too much!