Plan to win users?

Hi all!
I just listened to a talk by Ruben Verborgh and it totally blew me away, so now I’m 100% into Solid. However I’m not a developer, I work in IT but aI have a humanistic background so my thought goes to users.

Is there already a plan to win over users? General users, posters who on average have already given up ownership data and everything, users who don’t really care anymore?

My guess is that a key might be giving them control and ownership of the content they produce with so much effort for the various platforms. I’m thinking of a scraping tool to get back all of your contents and comments and translating them into solid, so that they are not lost whenever platform x closes.
Any thoughts?

Bye!

4 Likes

This gets back to the question I posted at Big picture server question, which is, really, about ownership and control of one’s data. The appeal of Solid for most people, I think, will be that it allows them to gain control over their own data. But how is that possible if they are just taking their data off, say, Facebook, and putting it on a Solid server run by a stranger?

The answer in part, I’m guessing, is to make it easy for users to move their data from server to server. Granted, most of us won’t do that often, but knowing we can gives us that sense of control.

An analogy might be how we use cloud sync and storage services now. You can easily cancel your service with Company X, move your files to Company Y, and all is well. You cannot do that now with your personal data stored on Facebook. So even though, with Solid, most people will still be relying on, and probably eventually paying for, Solid providers (unless they want to run their own server), they will know that they do indeed control and own their data, and that’s a good thing.