How will Solid change the way we do websites?

Hello All,

This is my first post. I am very excited about the possibilities and promise of Solid. I am not a developer or a tech person. My interest in Solid lies in a) my appreciation for what it can do to streamline the user’s web experience, and b) my philosophical support for the entire concept of decentralizing the internet and placing control of data back in the hands of individuals.

So as to avoid asking a lot of basic questions, I have been doing research and reading articles on the concept. Most of the articles have used social media, personal contacts, and calendars/agendas as examples, and so I am starting to get a good handle on how Solid will change our approach on those. However, I am a little fuzzy on what it will do, or might do, to the way we think of, construct, and use actual websites. Will that change?

For example, let us say that I want to create a personal website using Wordpress—a place to post my thoughts, articles, images, etc. A place that I control. If I were to do that now, all of my data would go into Wordpress’s system. Those data would be stored wherever the site is hosted, in Wordpress’s file structure, in the form that Wordpress needs them to be.

But it sounds to me like Solid might render such an approach obsolete. It certainly renders the current social media paradigm obsolete. So what does it do to websites? Is a whole new way of building websites going to arise out of Solid, such that Wordpress itself might slowly become obsolete, or at least redundant?

I would like to have such a personal website, but I’d hate to build one only to discover that in two years, we’re doing everything differently!

I would very much appreciate any knowledge and insight anyone can provide.

Thanks!
CC

2 Likes

The change is that you would be able to tell WordPress where to store you data, which could be your own server or some server you trust

3 Likes