What is the best way to gather data from multiple pods so that differential privacy can be applied?

Hello!

I am new to solid and the Community Solid Server (CSS) and I am currently working on a thesis regarding the implementation of data privacy in the solid ecosystem. The goal is to create anonymous pods so that interested entities (like universities or research centers) can gather pod data of many people for statistical research. That way accurate statistical population studies can be executed without violating the privacy of the pod owners data.

At the moment I am trying to figure out the following:

1. How can I create a large amount of pods on the CSS so that I can fill them with random data?
  2. How do I access and extract the data from all these pods so that a data curator can apply differential privacy for example and afterwards sent the data to the interested entities.

Regarding the second question, do I create a client app for the role of curator or do I make implementations to the CSS so that the CSS can act as curator and apply differential privacy itself?

Thanks in advance

1 Like

Hi,

CSS provides an API to manage accounts, which is documented here: JSON API - Community Solid Server
Here is a sample usage of it I quickly wrote down some weeks ago (replace baseUrl with your servers url): API for creating solid pods - #15 by A_A

I’m not really familiar with differential privacy and how exactly you want to achieve it. So I may misinterpret the details behind your question. However, I’d see three possible implementations:

(1) You tell the users to give the researchers access to the data in question. Then the researchers download the raw data and locally (on the researchers server) process it in a way that preservers differential privacy