View apps that have access to a resource?

Hello! I’m trying to create basic solid app for a project - and wanted to try to view the apps that have access to the pod at a given time.

I understand the ACR (Manage Access to Data (ACP) — Inrupt JavaScript Client Libraries) defines how agents are able to access a specific resource. Is there a way yet to identify “apps” that have been given access by viewing the ACR? Would an app like MediaKraken create a matcher or policy for itself when it gets initial access?

I’ve largely been trying to implement the code here to try and understand what’s possible.
https://docs.inrupt.com/developer-tools/javascript/client-libraries/tutorial/manage-acp/

However, I’m not sure I understand how access information is typically stored for apps that are currently out there. I guess an extended question is whether there is a way to identify the agent that last made a change to a resource or container.

I’m quite new to Solid and web development in general and am still learning. I’d be happy to try and share more details as helpful. Thank you!

Hello, and welcome!

As far as ACP goes, I don’t believe it gives specific details of how a client is identified in a Context, and that is an open area of research. You can read more here, which shows the actual RDF structures which ACP uses for access resolution

1 Like

I’m not sure about ACP, but I suspect it works the same as WAC in this regard - " When the target of the HTTP request is the ACL resource, the operation can only be allowed with the acl:Control access mode." In other words, you can’t access the ACL for a resource unless you have control privileges over the resource. Even then you can only read the ACL resource if you also have read permissions on it.

1 Like