Newbie perceptions on Solid: App framework vs Web standards effort?

After my newbie remarks on licensing and community positioning, some more first impressions as feedback that may be of value.

When Solid wasn’t launched yet and following announcements and the MIT page from a distance, my expectations of Solid were additional (W3C) standards to fill in missing parts of the web foundational layers, with the key USP’s of providing true Data Ownership and Reuse in modular fashion - i.e. the features mentioned on the MIT page.

Expectation: Standards and reference implementations. Building blocks that are universal and applicable anywhere on the web, and would become as ubiquitous as, say, HTTP, HTML, etc. etc. Allowing the web as a whole to be ‘re-decentralized’.

Now, I am sure Solid is all of that (you are the best to tell, as I am just a newbie). But - and here I am talking about impressions that other newcomers may have too - there is a lot of talk and focus on building apps of all kinds, using Solid ostensibly as the ‘app framework’. The Docs point to the Solid spec github repo (which is a bit hard to browse and place in context), but the remainder of the docs is some Linked Data background (a hugely broad subject compressed in 2 pages), and rdflib.js API docs, solid + angular and server install + run.

A NodeJS or other web / back-end dev may confuse Solid for ‘just another’ web application framework (especially in Node world every other week a new such framework is launched).

In fact, writing this, I am confused myself. Is Solid the web standards, core technology initiative I thought it was, or is it an application framework based on best open (W3C) standards implemented with best-practices by the experts that helped create them?

Note: All of this is not criticism, but honest feedback of my perception.

Standardization effort, app framework, or both… it may be worth considering making the distinction a bit clearer?

5 Likes