Concepts for apps in a decentralised web

Hello folks,

my name is Sergej Spomer and I’m an UX Designer from Berlin.
I based my Thesis on Solid and what Ruben Verborgh proposed in his article “paradigm shifts for a decentralised web”. I tried to see how decentralised apps that would be build on Solid work and more importantly, what the new possibilities of data-ownership and the split of data and applications would mean for the interaction between people and apps. How people would manage their own data and how they would decide who could access what data from where.

As I’m a developer myself I challenged myself to only propose interaction patterns that would be, as much as possible, technically feasible with the current technology. I tried to come up one possible way how we could design decentralised apps to allow users to have control over their data without the requiring technical knowledge to use it. I also came up with a couple ideas and concepts for shared data structures that would allow users as well as applications to recognise data sets more easily.

I’d love your opinions my thesis and hope that maybe they can help someone. What do you think about the ideas proposed here? Is there something that I completely forgot?

The whole thesis might be a bit lengthy because I also talk about the problems it tries to solve and the technological background. As you probably know this already you can just skip those parts :wink:

You can download the thesis here: https://ln.sync.com/dl/619f85ef0/xgaf5te9-ta9iadci-jvfn7eaj-cqunvya8

I also created basic prototype to demonstrate those principles. if you like, you can have a look at here:

https://www.sketch.com/s/0c2f4020-a8aa-412b-a778-3dfa042f7b85/a/W2GG4w/play

If you have any questions let me know and I’ll try to answer them to best of my abilities.

7 Likes

Hi Sergej,