Blogging Platform

I’m still learning about Solid and getting familiar with it, so I’m not sure if this all makes sense. But I’m the lead developer of a federated blogging platform (via ActivityPub), called WriteFreely, and I’m thinking it could be interesting to add support for Solid.

I’m imagining the real draw would be in owning / maintaining control over the content you publish, whether it’s public blog posts or private notes. And if we’re storing posts in a Solid pod, it’d be very easy for other apps to interact with them – everything is stored as plain text / Markdown.

Does this make sense? Is there anything I’m missing, or something more that could be done with an app like this?

4 Likes

Ooh wow, that makes you something of a celebrity! :slight_smile: Yes, that would be very interesting. The primary thing to keep in mind when working with Solid is that the app has no control over the server, i.e. you can’t control the server and get it to do e.g. custom server-to-server interactions, at this point in time.

So there are two general strategies you could use:

1. You store the posts as plain text/Markdown on the Pod, and readers use a (web) app to access it, such as WriteFreely. Disadvantage is that you’ll have to have some way to point the app to the relevant posts to display, which can lead to somewhat cumbersome URLs (e.g. https://writefreely.instance/blog=https://my.pod/blog).
  2. Besides storing the source text/Markdown files, you also compile them into HTML using the app, and then store those to the Pod.

To also provide e.g. RSS feeds, you’d need to go with an approach like #2 as well, or a server somewhere should be willing to do the work of fetching the blog posts from a Pod and serving that up as an RSS feed.

PS. Do you have a Fediverse account to follow? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Indeed wow, would be great to see another AP / Solid combo app come into fruition. @thebaer is at @writeas_dev on the fediverse.