Use Case - Vaccination Cards

Hi,

I am new to Solid world and so I thought, it will be helpful to share my understanding as a layman. Just to make sure that I am not treading a wrong path from the beginning itself.

As per my understanding, Solid aims to be the single source of truth for data about user.

So a user’s Pod is the primary source of truth for any data that the user generates. It will only be a secondary source , if the data is generated by any other entity, be it Government , public or private institution or person.
The entity that creates the data, doesn’t have the store the only copy on user’s pod, and access it always from user’s Pod.

They can remove unwanted data and transfer the responsibility of the data to user.

Example :

Government needs to create an Identity ( Like License ) or certificate ( like a vaccine certificate) for a user.
The user shares his data from Pod to government to create the identity or certificate. The government creates the certificate, based on the data it owns and also the data the user shared .
Government posts the certificate back to users pod.

In the above scenario , government does not need to take the responsibility of the security of User’s Pod. If the data, that is being read from User’s Pod is injected or malicious, they only have to sanitise the data or reject the data.
Also , the Pod, that the user shares with the government is same as any mail id or number provided by the user right now. The government does not need to take responsibility of the mail server used by User.

Here the government can hold the data that was used to generate the certificate, and offload the responsibility of storing the certificate to User. In case, the user want’s to generate the certificate, government can use the same data to create the duplicate. Or the government can delete all the data, once the generation is completed ( this can’t be enforced ).