Standard location of personal photos?

As a web-app developer I want to let my users select existing images from their POD or upload new ones for special purposes - for instance when writing a blog post and then adding an image to it, in which case the user can either upload a new one or select an existing one.

Where should new images be uploaded to - and where should the user be looking for existing images?

It is very similar to mobile phones - if I want to add a photo to Facebook I can either select an existing one from my phone or upload a new.

I assume there exist some sort of standard for this purpose on Android/iOS - and I guess it would be beneficial for Solid to have a similar approach.

Further more, it would be nice, as an app developer, to be able to reuse some sort of standard Solid widget for selecting or uploading images (or documents in general).

1 Like

How about a convention for some top level folders such as:

public
documents
downloads
music
pictures
videos

Or similar.

I stole that list obviously, which is why I think it makes sense. Most OS UIs seem to have a set of default containers similar to this. I don’t know if there’s an actual standard though.

There’s a question for me though. If I select something from a private folder to be published, should a copy be made in the public folder or should the access permissions be changed on the published item? My first thought is to copy, so all the data you’ve made public this way is easily identified. I think searching permissions is too complicated for most people.

I too think copying is probably the most understandable way to go. Similar to what happens if I publish an image from my mobile phone to Facebook - a copy is made.