Solid Ecosystem Diagram

Hello Solid Community. I am new to Solid and am trying to understand the key concepts. I created a Google Diagram to help me visualize the Solid ecosystem, and I thought it might be useful to others as well. I am sure the diagram contains some inaccuracies, so I am hoping others can contribute to its accuracy and completeness. Future features could also be added to it.

Here is the diagram. Please feel free to change anything you wish…

Notes: 1. Sub-diagrams could be created, if needed. 2. I can transfer ownership to someone else. 3. The diagram could be migrated to another tool, if preferred.

8 Likes

Hi @Brent
I’m so excited to see this! I’m trying to do something very similar, to be a part of the “onboarding”, aka “getting started”, project, which you can find on Github, and which will be hosted (for now at least), on Github Pages. There’s not too much to see yet, but I’m working pretty on hard on three things that I want to incorporate into that project very soon. Those three things are:

1. a list of links to documentation that will eventually be searchable and filterable,
  2. an AI tool for answering questions about Solid, that has a large indexed knowledge base of docs (in development at my personal site, jonwilson.dev–it’s currently using “Danswer” an open source tool for indexing and searching docs, and OpenAI’s ChatGPT 3.5 Turbo API), and
  3. an interactive diagram that can be expanded to show different levels of detail and includes links to tutorials and other sources–I’m not sure exactly how to make it interactive, but that’s the goal. I have a jpeg of my first version in a pod here, and if you’d like, please feel free to visit the Miro board where I’m working on it.

And you’re also thinking about the concept of sub-diagrams, which is very cool–I think that is probably similar to what I mean by interactive.