Security benefit of sharing with solid(compared to end-to-end encryption)?

Hey I’m new to solid, I wanna make a solid app just to explore the technology, but I’m not sure if there is any security benefit of solid when we already have end-to-end encryption technology? Thanks

Hello and welcome. The “end-to-end” part of end-to-end encryption is a little vague. Likewise, discussing about security means that you need to tell us what kind of attack you want to protect yourself, against who.

Here is my personal opinion. The more important question is to know, as a user, who you trust with your data, what mistakes you can make and what consequences they could have. So the most useful definition of security is to protect yourself against your mistakes. For instance, if you accidentally publish your private key for a web-of-trust-like social network, it means that you automatically lose all your contacts in the social network. If you just publish your digital signature for a message, then until you change your key (and thus, drop all your contacts again), it can be traced directly to you without possible mistake, against your will. You are not in control.

With Solid, if your data leaks and is copied somewhere else, then it has little value because it is not under your authority so there’s no way to measure how accurate it is, and it will never be updated. This simple fact is likely to protect you against a company gathering all the data it can and leaking it to the spammers, because there’s no incentive for the company to keep a copy of your data anyway.

2 Likes

hey thanks so much for the detailed reply, in terms of end-to-end here, I was actually thinking about what’s app, so a user shares data with another user, and since what’s app uses end-to-end encryption, I was wondering if exchanging data through solid has better security benefits.