Login to a SOLID Pod from a Flutter app

Hello,

I am trying to build a small app using Flutter to read and write from Solid pods. But I am stuck with the login process. I can read the public information from a pod using a simple http get. But I am not able to login to a pod using post. I am fairly new to the solid platform, so I may be missing some obvious things here.
If anyone can point me in a direction where I can find useful information (or even a simple guide/tutorial) to get around this, that would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot!

1 Like

You either need to implement Solid-OIDC flow as defined in the spec or, more likely, include Inrupt’s solid-client-authn-node or my solid-node-client as the login/fetch manager.

1 Like

@jeffz Thank you for your reply and all the information. I am planning to try out your solid-node-client. Hopefully, I will be able to get the login sorted out.

1 Like

Having a straightforward, non-javascript example of authenticating access to a POD would be great. Is there already something like that?

2 Likes

I haven’t checked them myself, but it looks like there are community implementations of Solid’s authentication protocol (Solid-OIDC) in Rust, in Swift, in Kotlin (using Spring) and in Perl, in case they’re helpful.

3 Likes

@kayon @Anushka I would be very interested to know how you get on with your various research areas. Thank you in advance for anything you post back and share.

2 Likes

@kayon I haven’t come across anything like that yet. Still investigating the possibilities. Will make sure to share anything I find useful to tackle this.

Hi @Anushka ! As @jeffz mentioned, authentication in Solid is based on an extension to the OpenID Connect protocol, named Solid-OIDC. OpenID Connect itself is based on OAuth 2.0, which defines a general flow for authentication. Typically, think about how “Log in with Google” works:

1. You start from your app, and click login