Create new inbox

Hello! I’m a student of the University Of Oviedo, and we are creating an app using Solid.
The main idea is to share routes, so we decide to create a folder in root with the name viade, where we have one folder for the routes (viade/routes) and now i want to create a new inbox in viade, so the notifications of the app will be here, pulled apart from the other notifications in the inbox in root.

One idea i had, is that @inrupt/solid-react-components has a hook, useNotification, that has a lot of methods thats helps to do this. One, is the method “createInbox”, that has three params: inboxPath, appPath, settingFileName, but dont know how to use it because i think i put the params wrong or something like that…

I hope someone could help me

1 Like

Hey there! I’m actually working on documentation now for how the React SDK sample application demonstrates things like this. I still think that is likely the best example for now, but a few things to note:

First, Solid pods get inboxes created when you register a new pod, so there will always be a global inbox. You can see what an inbox is in Solid by looking there - and essentially, it’s just a regular container. The only difference is an inbox is linked from somewhere via ldp:inbox predicate, as you can see on your profile card. All new Solid users should have this.

In the SDK we decided that global inbox isn’t enough, we want more granular control over inboxes, so we created our own. Our path, as described in the generated application, is /public/games/ticttactoe, and there we initialize a bunch of stuff: data.ttl file, which links out to external games, settings.ttl which stores game settings, and /inbox container. We link to the full /public/games/tictactoe/inbox path in settings.ttl using ldp:inbox (in theory you can move this inbox anywhere as long as it is linked from settings.ttl).

Some of the sample code creating an inbox in the Tic Tac Toe game can be seen here.