Demo app - RC flight logger

Being an enthusiastic radio controlled aircraft modeller in addition to being a software developer, I decided to try out Solid by creating flight-log app that stores my models, flying locations and flight-log on my personal POD.

Example screen dump(*):

You can try the app directly at https://solidrc.azurewebsites.net/. The project is located on GitHub - JornWildt/SolidRC: A journey into building Solid applications - feel free to add isues or fork it and play around with it.

It has been an interesting journey where I have dived into Solid, Linked Data, JavaScript frameworks and Dotnet Core websites on Azure.

My apologies to the Solid team for all the questions I have disturbed them with - and thanks for your patient replies.

(*) And, yes, I did unfortunately crash that beautiful model in the example picture as stated in the comment field.

7 Likes

A few comments about the app itself:

• The data model may very well change, meaning your data gets lost … or rather, the app won’t be able to see the data again while it still exists on your POD.

• I have tried hard to use existing linked data types for the data.

• If you want to know why data is located where is it then take a look at this discussion: https://github.com/solid/solid-spec/issues/127

• Hosting is on a free Azure plan. Don’t expect too much from it.

• Solid has no concept of paging and sorting data server side, so once the flight-log grows big you will see a degradation of performance as the browser must load all entries, sort them in-memory, grab the X entries on each page - and throw the rest away. See https://github.com/solid/node-solid-server/issues/956

• There are issues with the local RDFLIB cache of statements. You will often see funny things happening when adding or deleting items. I still don’t know if this is a RDFLIB bug or me misusing it. See https://github.com/linkeddata/rdflib.js/issues/279