Clarification about an app that wants to read data from pod

Hi! I am new to solid development and something is not clear to me so I want to ask if I understand it right.
So suppose an application knows the WebID of a person. The app doesn’t require any user to authenticate himself so there is no authentication token, it just knows the WebID. Can it use the fetch method for that WebID to retrieve data from the pod? If I am correct only if the user has defined in his pod that the app is trusted and can read his data, only then the data will be returned to the app. Is the process I described correct? Or the app needs to provide extra data?

Hi Athina,

It depends on what permissions have been set for that data. If the data is public, if can use the browser’s regular fetch method to fetch the data. If data is restricted such that only specific people can see it, then those people will have to be authenticated in the app, and the app will need to be marked as trusted by that user. (Though the trusted apps functionality is likely to change in the future.)

1 Like

@Vincent So it is not possible for application to act as a service and periodically ask data from a specific pod, if the user trusts the application to have access to read his data? Always there must be a user behind an application that makes the requests and previously authenticates himself?
Also if I understand it correctly, only the user can make requests to retrieve data from his pod, and he can do that through an application that requires him to authenticate first.
It is not possible for a user A to request data from the pod of user B, even if the user B has set that the application is trusted and that the WebID of A has permission to read data from B’s pod. Right?