Big picture server question

I’m having a problem with the big picture here with regards to permissions and access. I at first assumed Solid allowed sharing via some P2P type protocol, like IPFS, but the instructions at https://solid.inrupt.com/docs/installing-running-nss suggest a domain name is needed.

But then the instructions at https://github.com/solid/node-solid-server#install counter that and suggest that, indeed, a server can be set up without a domain name.

I’m not a coder. I built and ran servers a long time ago, but only understand Apache, and Linux servers for DNS, proxy, FTP, I write HTML and CSS, some PHP, etc., but that’s it.

I’d like to set up a Solid server, but will it require a domain to actually allow access to files? I’m thinking not, but could use some clarification.

This is a big conceptual question for me too. Assuming no domain name is needed to share one’s stuff via Solid, then I can see mass adoption happening very quickly via WYSIWYG clients for locally running ‘servers’.

And please be kind. I’m a card carrying member of the AARP.

To access the server you will need to know its address. If it is on your local machine, that’s just what you set it up to be.

But if you or somebody else needs to access it from another machine, they need to know the address of the server (so this is different to IPFS or SAFE).

The address of the server is actually a numeric IP address (IPv4 or IPv6) but numeric addresses are hard to remember, and in some cases they change regularly, so generally people use a domain and let the DNS handle the numeric addresses.

Ah, OK, thank you. So one would need a static IP as a minimum to run a stable server, much like Apache and unlike IPFS. This also means that most people will not be able to run a server as most people connect via dynamic IP.