What is exactly Solid?

I have been creating applications and managing teams for 25 years using the multitier architecture (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multitier_architecture) and so do 95% of developers in the world who are not working in universities. So I am very surprised by some content of the Solid project :
Solid is definitely a tool of the persistence layer, it is document oriented and provides sharing services.
And that’s it.
So I don’t understand why do the Solid project provides a style guide which is a part of the UI. In the same way I think the React SDK or the Yeoman Angular generator should not be in the Solid project. Or be there as samples only.
On the contrary it misses a free user oriented application allowing each Pod owner to manage it’s data, accesses and authorizations. This app should be in the Google, Apple and Microsoft stores, this is today the starting point of everything.
I would also like developers of my smartphone gallery give me the choices : Storage : local / Google Photos / Solid.
I would like my smartphone file manager gives me the choices : Storage : local / Google Drive / Solid.
I am afraid Solid is smart people working in universities oriented as the future is in the hands of young people creating smartphone apps and wanting to code using easy to understand rules.

1 Like

At it’s core Solid is a set of open specifications. Right now a lot of this is about persistence and representation of resources, but identity, authentication and authorization are also vital parts.

Some of these standards have been implemented into servers and tools, such as node-solid-server that implements a Solid server in Node, and rdflib.js that allows you to manipulate RDF programmatically.