Why "on top of the file-system"?

Hello Solid Community,

The node-solid-server tagline is “Solid server on top of the file-system in NodeJS”. This is very appropriate as data is stored to the filesystem as Turtle files (and other filetypes).

I am wondering why such an architecture was chosen as opposed to storing data in a database (a relational database or a triple store)? I imagine implementing SPARQL queries would be easier if data is stored in a triple store that can run SPARQL queries (see related GitHub issue)? Other advantages of using existing databases might be performance. Are there any particular reasons why node-solid-server stores data to plain files?

Background: I am working on a social networky/open data project (https://miaengiadina.github.io/openengiadina/), am trying to understand existing standards and am interested in architectural decisions made by various implementations.

5 Likes

I’m a complete newbie here, so take my answer with plenty of salt. The specifications as far as I can see don’t mention] or even recommend any particular storage or I/O mechanism. In a sense, the network is a whole is like a big filesystem. The problem of putting bytes to metal is no more answered by SOLID, than what an HTML5 browser would say about the requirements of a web server.

But, I think this is nevertheless a valid discussion - especially for use cases where latency, data streaming or long term archival becomes an issue. Internet development today has a plethora of rather complicated/proprietary solutions to highly available or highly secure storage. Countless databases, cloud hosts and even filesystem flavours catering to an ever growing diversity of perceived needs could be rather well upended by an evolutionary approach to data storage. The DAT project and IPFS from Protocol Labs stand out as projects that are perhaps closer to solving this infrastructural problem.